first post

Hello everyone,

Trey and I are about to become a family of three (four if you count our ridiculous dog). I’ve decided to chronicle some of our adventures so that one day I can look back on this season of our life with fondness (or just remember it at the very least). The blog will hopefully get updated pretty regularly. If you’re curious about the blog name, it comes from my favorite Psalm:

Psalm 121

A song of ascents.

1 I lift up my eyes to the hills—
where does my help come from?

2 My help comes from the LORD,
the Maker of heaven and earth.

3 He will not let your foot slip—
he who watches over you will not slumber;

4 indeed, he who watches over Israel
will neither slumber nor sleep.

5 The LORD watches over you—
the LORD is your shade at your right hand;

6 the sun will not harm you by day,
nor the moon by night.

7 The LORD will keep you from all harm—
he will watch over your life;

8 the LORD will watch over your coming and going
both now and forevermore.

Those verses are a constant encouragement in a world that seems to be going down the drain at times.

Moving on, let me catch you up on the past six months. Being a history teacher, I have to catch you up on the past to talk about the future. . .

March. . .

This was quite possibly one of the best months of my whole life. Trey and I journeyed to wonderful London, England for spring break. Well worth all of the planning, an extremely long flight, and the tiny bank account we returned home to. Little did we know that among all of the adorable British clothes, playbills from the West End, souvenirs for family, and hundreds of photos stored on our camera, that we were returning home with something even more amazing than all of our British experiences put together that would change our lives forever. . .

April. . .

I have my girlfriends over for dinner on Easter weekend. I am contemplating the idea that I might be expecting, but nothing is confirmed. Leave it to the girls to ask why I’m not having a glass of wine with them- it resulted in taking a pregnancy test and discovering that even the faintest of lines mean that “yes, you are pregnant!”

In my head I’ve always had a really romantic, meaningful evening planned out for how I would tell Trey. That plan was shot down as soon as he got home after the girls left. I guess I had a really idiotic/giddy/confused/nervous/excited/perplexed/happy (you get the idea) look on my face because the first thing he says is, “you’re pregnant, aren’t you?” How does he know me so well?? “That’s not how I wanted you to find out!” His face lit up and I showed him the pregnancy test and that was that. The romantic dinner and formal “telling of the husband” evening might have been nice, but actually turned out better the way he found out. It’s reassuring that we know each other so completely that a look can communicate the most important things. I think that might be important in parenting. . . I hope so. . .

Easter with the family is wonderful (but hard to keep the secret!) and Trey and I both turn a year older.

May. . .

Time to tell the parents. It’s Friday night at a very delicious Italian restaurant and Trey’s parents are going on talking about the day that Trey was born. I can’t stop smiling and giggling so we exchange the “what are we waiting for look?” Trey’s father cries (a lot!) and his mom screams (with joy-then cries). Good times. My mom and step-dad’s reaction was similar except my mom did enough crying for the both of them. Trey asks “is she sad?” Nope. That’s just my mom, so excited that she is crying and people don’t know what to think. I laugh at Trey for thinking she is sad.

My little bro graduates from high school.

June. . .

Cheerleading practices, cheerleading camp, cheerleading overload. Nothing else to say about June. . .

July. . .

Uncle Greg returns home from Iraq. His reunion with his wife is one of the sweetest moments I’ve ever witnessed.

Fourth of July was spent with my family at Cape San Blas, then we headed off to Seaside for a little getaway.

A few weeks of rest and then we headed to the Big Apple. By the way, it wasn’t designed for pregnant people. Good family time though.

August. . .

School starts, off to another great year hopefully! We (and by we I mean I supervise/stay out of the way while Trey and his Dad work) start fixing up the nursery. I see Julie and Julia, buy the Julia Child cookbook and discover my love of French food! Also, I light cognac on fire for one of the recipes and didn’t burn down the house! It was amazing. The Apples Charlotte is my favorite so far.

September. . .

FOOTBALL SEASON!!!!!

Stay tuned.

1 Comment

Filed under Cooking, Holidays, Nate Update, Trey

One response to “first post

  1. love it, gin!! it is perfect!

Leave a Reply

