Someone to grow old with

Yesterday was the birthday of a very important person. The wide world might not know about him, he isn’t revered in sports or politics, but he is my world. My husband Trey works harder than anyone on the planet, has a childlike faith, and always makes me laugh. To say that I love him doesn’t really explain it. Yes, I love him very much- but our life gives me so much joy. Watching Trey grow into his new role as father is incredible. He and Nate already have the father/son super special bond. Trey plays with Nate a little rougher, and makes Nate laugh a little harder. It is precious and melts my heart just to think about it.

Today, I cooked and cooked. . . and cooked. I resembled something of a 1950s housewife with my homemade doughnuts, cake, and chicken wings (maybe the chicken wings aren’t so 50s, but you get the idea.) The crazy thing is it was FUN. I thoroughly enjoyed all of it and I realized something. Trey has brought out a side of me that I didn’t know was there. A more gentle side, someone with a softer heart and less complaints (I know what you’re thinking, but if you knew me before Trey was in my life you probably also know it’s true). The old Ginny is still there to though- I’ll get into a political debate anytime! ๐Ÿ™‚ The difference is I might be a little more gentle in my delivery of why you are wrong. Just kidding. Seriously though, I love being mama to Nate, wife to Trey and taking care of them. They take care of me. It’s a pretty wonderful system we’ve got going. Just as a quick side note, I had a lot of help from the grandparents today. There is no way all this food would’ve happened without their help with Nate. The real 1950s housewife could have done it all by herself. In heels. With perfect hair. So I suppose I don’t fit into the 1950s housewife club. Oh well. Just as long as I’m not in the Real Housewives club. Ick. Moving on. . .

I am so very thankful that the Lord brought us together. Happy birthday to my best friend. This year is just the beginning. ๐Ÿ™‚

Here are some pics from today.

The doughnuts: (recipe can be found here– I had to buy a doughnut cutter and a deep fry thermometer for this project but it was well worth it!)

After that, it was on to marinating chicken wings, slicing onions, and baking the cake. I was going to use the recipe from Bakerella, but an unexpected cookbook arrived yesterday (thanks Irene and Beej!) so I made this:

Using this fabulous cookbook:

I highly recommend it.

For Trey’s birthday, I didn’t do a “present” exactly, I just tried to incorporate all the things that he loves into a day. Time with family and friends, cards (think greeting, not poker), and FOOD- thus the doughnuts, chicken wings, and cake with lots of buttercream icing. I think everyone had a good time.

The boys enjoying some wings. I got the recipe from my mom’s good friend- she clipped it out of a magazine years ago. All you do is marinate the wings in a gallon ziploc bag with six ounces of Chrystal sauce for 2-12 hours. Preheat oven to 400, place wings on a baking sheet and roast for 25 minutes. Turn them over and roast for an additional 25 minutes. (I added a little salt at this point.) Broil for a few minutes then poof! You will have tasty wings. (Side note: if you are not familiar with wings- which I wasn’t at all, never really cared for them until tonight actually- when you buy fresh wings at the store it is actually two like you would get at a restaurant. The drumette and the wing is one fresh wing. Don’t order 130 fresh wings if you need 130 restaurant wings. You’ll end up with 260 wings. I’ll be eating wings for the next ten years. That is all.)

Trey and Dan with the boys.

“Seriously, guys, I’m big enough to eat wings too! Can’t I just have one?”

Nate loved sitting with the big boys.

I know it’s late, but Nate’s four months stats are coming soon! I haven’t forgotten.

8 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Photos, Trey

8 responses to “Someone to grow old with

  1. looks like trey had a fantastic birthday! he is lucky to have a wife who loves him so much that she will spend the whole day in the kitchen… especially considering that she would have found just the idea of it degrading before marrying him:)

  2. Mama Byrd

    Happy Birthday, Trey! And what sweet musings by this wife…

    • laffittefamily

      Thank you! I’m always glad to know someone is enjoying the blog. ๐Ÿ™‚ I wish I was as good about updating as Lane is about hers!

  3. Danielle

    Happy Birthday Trey! The doughnuts look awesome! I have been wanting to give them a try and now I am motivated. I think I might just have to try the wings too ๐Ÿ™‚

    • laffittefamily

      Happy birthday to Sophie too! The doughnuts are definitely worth the effort- eat them within a few hours though because they definitely don’t keep. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Mumsy

    Ginny,

    Those little 195o’s housewives only WISH they could cook like you! Keep on with the wonderful recipes because you know we all can’t wait to enjoy your cooking!! Monie Raye would be soooo proud of you! Love, Mumsy

    • laffittefamily

      Haha, you have to say that because you’re my mom! Thanks for the encouragement- I can only dream about matching Monie Raye in the kitchen. She was the master!

Leave a Reply

