God is good.

Today, we dedicated our little man to the Lord. There is a bit of irony in dedicating a child to the Lord when we are already His, but it is a statement of faith on the part of Trey and myself as parents. It was a beautiful ceremony, and it was wonderful to have the support of the church, our parents, Grandma, and even Gunter (my little bro)! When we met with Pastor Scott about dedicating Nate, he recommended a couple of children’s bibles to us: The Big Picture Story Bible

This one is great for children learning to read, and I love it for Nate because it has big, bright pictures that hold his attention.

Here is the other one:

The Jesus Storybook Bible. I LOVE this one to read to Nate, and it has fabulous pictures as well, but it is much more in depth than the other one.

So, back to today- I have to admit that I was a bit nervous about getting up on that big stage, and even more nervous that Nate would decide to do one of the following: make “pterodactyl” noises (extremely loud shrieking- perhaps he’s testing his vocal limits? It makes Trey and me think of dinosaurs, hence the name), make bathroom noises (yikes!), cry, or spit up.  I am very happy and thankful to report that none of that happened. Whew!  Here are some pictures from the morning. (Thanks to Bubbie!)

Pastor Scott explaining the covenants.

On the big screen! I think Trey looks handsome on TV. Back to the dedication. . .

Our wonderful elders praying for our little family.

Chillin with great grandma while simultaneously trying to eat his entire hand. Charming, isn’t he?

After the service, we headed home to have dinner and it was fabulous.  Bubbie brought a super tasty organic salad, Grandmeggie made Moni Raye’s scalloped potatoes, great grandma brought roasted veggies and I cooked a roast and made eclairs for dessert.  And I mean, I really made them- pastry, filling, and sauce for the top. No frozen puff pastry, no pre-made custard. This was the real deal. I would just throw a link up for the recipe but I used a part of three different recipes. They were quite scrumptious though (Trey said he liked them better than the doughnuts) so I’ll be making them again on Wednesday night.  I might post the pieced together recipe with some pictures. Just thinking about the eclairs made me go up a jeans size though, so beware.

Few things are quite as wonderful as a table set with china, crystal, flowers, cloth napkins and a beautiful table cloth. Moni Raye would be proud.

Grandmeggie and the buddy.

Today was a perfectly sweet day, definitely one I’ll look forward to telling Nate about when he gets older.

As a side note, if my blog is starting to sound a little pioneer woman wannabe- I’m sorry! I read her blog all the time and I can’t shut out the influence!

That’s all for now, enjoy the rest of this long weekend!

2 Comments

Filed under milestones

2 responses to “God is good.

  1. Your family look beautiful up there today. I was so happy to be there for his dedication!

  2. Grandmeggie

    Ginny,

    I love your blog! Nate’s dedication was precious and dinner was fabulous…especially the eclairs!!
    Your home looked so pretty and Monie Raye would have been so proud! Keep up the great cooking and the running. You are looking SKINNY!!

    I love you,

    Mumsy

    Mumsy

Leave a Reply

